Button and Bead’s and everything in between……

Back again……….

All is well in my little corner of the world…….

All  children have now settled into school,

High School has been kind to Shannon and Dan and so far no hiccup’s.

Well except maybe for the little one’s who started Kindy.

Like the afternoon  Kurt Meister decided that instead of catching the school bus home he would stay at school and play Basketball with his new mate and of course give his mom heart flutter’s……………

And little Miss Kiera who only the other day had the sniffles, but could not be convinced to stay home and was quite adamant she must to go to school……

And then there’s little Bailey who is missing the company of Miss Kiera very much and can’t wait until he too can go to school, maybe next year………

Mind you he did get to go on an adventure with his Nan in an aeroplane,

I would love to have seen his face as he got off that plane.

Baby’s are thriving,

Sick people are healing,

Tears  have been cried,

And the button’s that i bought before Xmas have been put to good use..

button necklace

Finally I’ve made my button necklace,

Mind you I still have plenty of button’s left over, looks like a bracelet might be called for…..

Actually I’ve been pretty busy the last couple of weeks, teaching myself new technique’s, so that i then can share the knowledge……

I’ve taught myself  several different chainmail’s, 

I haven’t as yet made any wearable pieces,

but I feel comfortable enough to share what I know with girls in my class.

I also had my first attempt at Viking knit……….

viking knit bracelet

viking knit 

“Viking knitting, one of the oldest known forms of knitting, and  is a looping technique that preceded traditional knitting by centuries.”.

I really enjoyed learning this one and was totally wrapt to see the finished piece.

I must take some photo’s next time, so I can show the before and after, so kewl the way it works out.

I also made a pendant as requested by my oldest daughter…………………….

wire pendant

In Purple, Of course, 

it was good to get some much needed practice with wire weaving……….

Now from wire to seed beads,

The Cellini Weave……..

cellini weave

DROOL…………

I know that this isn’t quite finished but i do have an “Idea”………….

Thank goodness for all the clever people who come up with all these different techniques.

I learnt from here…….http://www.tarnhelm.com/NeedForBeads/Cellini.htm

 

Seed Beads, chainmail, wire work, there’s so much to learn, and just not enough time in the day……………

Mmmmmmm

One day I’d love to have a go at making my very own  Lamp work beads!!!!

But  today i attempted to Patina a pair of earring’s that I made from copper, using mashed eggs in a plastic bag………

Yummeee……………..Not

  copper earrings

copper earrings

I don’t think they went as dark as they could have, maybe i should have left them for 1 more day as the sun didn’t seem to come out till after lunch, mind you the Ant’s certainly took a shine to my mashed bag of egg and copper………

I guess you just have to give these things a go…….right!!!

mind you I do love the look of copper…

I was totally inspired by this post…..

http://beadfetish.blogspot.com/2010/02/earrings-emilyand-experimenting-with.html

 

Well I’m feeling quite tired now, it seems like the last couple of weeks have been a very satisfying journey of discovery……………..

In my bead and wire world………………….

Here’s to next week and maybe a finished crochet flower necklace ?….I ask myself.

 

Stay Safe

xox

3 thoughts on “Button and Bead’s and everything in between……

Leave a Reply

