Second Hand Rose………………………

Every Friday afternoon Hubble and I visit the local Op Shop’s search for each of   our own ideas, for something that we can put to very good use.( or sit in the backroom until the purpose is found, it often works quite well),  Sometime’s we can be very lucky and at other times find absolutely nothing, but this week i stumbled upon something that i fell in love with……………..

IMG_9003

 

An old wedding dress…………………………

At first glance,  all i could see was how beautiful the lace was, and how it would be quite useful in my Lace stash (For that rainy day) But i figured it would probably cost more than i was prepared to pay, so i let it go……….

But………………..

It stayed firmly in the back of my mind and then i was beginning to think how great Shannon my daughter would look in it for some photo’s………….

I needed that dress………………………..

I rang the owner of the Op shop late Friday afternoon and asked for a price and i was pleasantly surprised to know that yes i could buy it without feeling guilty and hubbie(the best) gave me the green light……….

So …………………………………

That was  Friday and today is Saturday and it is now hanging  up on the door frame. ( note to myself to moved before bed because if Dan’s has to get up through the night it might scare the beejeezus out of him and me….)

It’s amazing how much of it i didn’t notice and how much love and time has been poured into this dress, to me it looks like every flower and bead as been sewn to it by hand, and to me it looks old as it has an aged coloring to it………………………

 IMG_9004

IMG_9007

IMG_9011

IMG_9021

I wish it could tell me it’s story……..

Poor Shannon had to try it on as soon as i got home poor kid, Hardly even awake and certainly not ready for this dress !!!

blog dress1

But she did it for her mom…………………………

And she see’s what i see in the dress, and the great shots we can get……..

And she was quite keen to do the “shoot” today,

but  even though i am excited,  I want to wait until it warms up,

In the  springtime  when  the world is so pretty  and  I also had other plans for today, “which i hope to show you soon”.

Anyhow just wanted to share “The dress”…………………………..

 

Stay Safe

 

xoxoxox

6 thoughts on “Second Hand Rose………………………

  1. Oh wow. That wasn’t what I had in my head at all.

    It’s elegantly weird – in a good way. Can’t wait to see it in real life.

  2. Pingback: What Day is it? « Beadywitch’s Weblog

  3. Wow…I can definately see the love and attention that was poured into this dress, I bet it was very very special on the day. And a great find for you! Can’t wait to see the photos!

  4. Oh lovely Tracey – I can imagine a photo shoot in the gardens of an old church or even….. a cemetery – perhaps a church yard with the cemetery in the background….. sweet & spooky.
    Good on your daughter – what a good sport!!!
    K

Leave a Reply

